Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Anti-Racism (DEIAR) Committee

The DEIAR Committee is working to transform the Department of Medicine into an anti-racist department where all faculty, trainees, and students thrive.

Members are developing concrete short-term and long-term goals, focusing on targets that are actionable and measurable.

The committee strives to have members from all divisions, and has sub-committees working in all program areas: research, clinical, education, and career development/department climate.

The DEIAR Committee regularly interacts with other groups working on diversity, equity, and inclusion in the Department of Medicine, the School of Medicine, and the University to ensure effectiveness and reduce duplication of effort. The DEIAR committee works closely with the Department of Medicine Office of Faculty Development and Diversity, and reports directly to Kathleen Cooney, MD, MACP, Chair of the Department of Medicine.

If you want to stay informed and find out how to support DEIAR initiatives, contact one of the committee members listed below. Faculty, students, and trainees are all invited to get involved.

Committee Members

Chair: Julius Wilder, MD, PhD, Gastroenterology

Research Subcommittee

Leader: Julius Wilder, MD, PhD, Gastroenterology
Andrew Alspaugh, MD, Infectious Diseases
Kimberly S. Johnson, MD, Geriatrics
Cynthia Moylan, MD, Gastroenterology
John J. Strouse, MD, Hematology

Education Subcommittee

Leader: Aimee Zaas, MD, Infectious Diseases
Camille Frazier-Mills, MD, Cardiology
Omobonike Sanders, MD, Gastroenterology
Lisa Criscione-Schreiber, MD, Rheumatology and Immunology
Fatima Syed, MD, General Internal Medicine
Daniella Zipkin, MD, General Internal Medicine

Clinical Subcommittee

Leader: John Duronville, MD, Nephrology
Chetan Patel, MD, Cardiology
Amy Porter-Tacoronte, MBA, Administration and Finance
Isaretta Riley, MD, Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care
April Salama, MD, Medical Oncology
Suchita Shah Sata, MD, General Internal Medicine
Sophia Weinmann, MD, Rheumatology and Immunology

Career Development/Climate Subcommittee

Leader: Kimberley Evans, MD, Nephrology
Blair Glasgo, MD, General Internal Medicine
Sangeeta Joshi, MD, MBBS, Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care
David Ortiz-Melo, MD, Nephrology
Dinushika Mohottige, MD, Nephrology
Cary Ward, MD, Cardiology

Divisional Vice Chiefs of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Larry R. Jackson II, MD, Cardiology
Bryan Batch, MD, MHS, Endocrinology
Julius Wilder, MD, PhD, Gastroenterology
Fatima Syed, MD, General Internal Medicine
Sonya Patel-Nguyen, MD, GIM/Hospitalist Medicine
Karen Jooste, MD, GIM/Palliative Care
Yoon Hie Kim, MD, Geratrics
Phuong Doan, MD, Hematologic Malignancies and Cellular Therapy
John J. Strouse, MD, PhD, Hematology
Lance Okeke, MD, MPH, Infectious Diseases
Daniel George, MD, Medical Oncology
Gentzon Hall, MD, PhD, Nephrology
Isaretta Riley, MD, Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care
Sophia Weinmann, MD, Rheumatology and Immunology

Faculty Leader

Laura P. Svetkey, MD, MHS, Vice-Chair for Faculty Development and Diversity


Ebony Boulware, MD, MPH, General Internal Medicine
Kevin Thomas, MD, Cardiology

Support Staff

Kimberly Dorman
Special Assistant to the Vice Chair of Faculty Development and Diversity