Championing Civility

The Department of Medicine is committed to making our workplace safe, healthy, and supportive for our faculty, staff, trainees, and patients. A positive work culture depends on a foundation of mutual respect and civility. Read our statement of departmental values concerning diversity and inclusion.

To promote and maintain a culture of civility, we provide resources and support for incidents of bias, harassment and uncivil behavior.

If you are in immediate danger, please contact Duke Campus Police (9-1-1) or Durham VA Medical Center Police (919-286-0411 ext. 6230).

Civility Leadership Team

Kathleen Cooney, MD, chair of the Department of Medicine, appointed a Civility Leadership Team that is available for information and assistance.

  • Laura Svetkey, MD, MHS, vice chair for faculty development and diversity
  • Aimee Zaas, MD, MHS, program director, Internal Medicine Residency
  • Kimberley Evans, MD, chair of the Minority Recruitment and Retention Committee
  • Lisa Criscione-Schreiber, MD, chair of the Program for Women in Internal Medicine
  • Dinushika Mohottige, MD, MPH, former chief resident and current fellow
  • John Duronville, MD, Civility Champion debrief facilitator

Civility Champions

A cohort of Department of Medicine faculty and trainees have been trained on how to offer informal support in response to incidents of bias, harassment or other unprofessional behaviors.

These Civility Champions will provide support; explore options for intervention or reporting when safe and appropriate; model the Department’s commitment to addressing the harm these incidents cause; and strengthen our community by working toward an environment of healing and care.

If you experience or witness an incident, please contact a Department of Medicine Civility Champion by email or phone for advice and assistance.

  • Joel Boggan
  • Lynn Bowlby
  • Ann Brown
  • Saumil Chudgar
  • Leonor Corsino
  • Lisa Criscione-Schreiber
  • Clarissa Diamantidis
  • Darin Dufault
  • John Duronville
  • Kimberley Evans
  • Jane Gagliardi
  • Coral Giovacchini
  • Kyle Geurink
  • Mitchell Heflin
  • Paul Jowell
  • Claudia Leung
  • Eileen Maziarz
  • Dinushika Mohottige
  • Toyosi Onwuemene
  • Nilesh Patel
  • John Roberts
  • Jennifer Rogers
  • Tamara Saint-Surin
  • April Salama
  • Shaki Salvador
  • Anmol Singh
  • Karen Steinhauser
  • Laura Svetkey
  • Jane Trinh
  • Jenny Van Kirk
  • Jason Webb
  • Sophia Weinmann
  • Aimee Zaas


Other Resources for support and assistance

Click here (login with Duke Net ID and password) to view a list with contact information of resources for support navigating responses to incidents of bias, harassment or related concerns.

  • Department of Medicine Civility Champions
  • Duke Personal Assistance Service (PAS)
  • Faculty Ombuds
  • Human Resources - Staff and Labor Relations

Institutional policies

Options for reporting

There are a number of ways to report an incident of bias, harassment or a related concern. Click here (login with Duke Net ID and password) to view a list with contact information for reporting and navigating responses to incidents. 

  • Office for Institutional Equity
  • GME Mistreatment Hotline
  • Integrity Line
  • PACT 
  • House staff Harassment Hotline

In the Department of Medicine, you may also report an incident to your attending physician; division chief; Laura Svetkey, MD, MHS, vice chair of faculty development and diversity; or a Civility Champion.