Faculty

Medicine-Psychiatry residents have the opportunity to work closely with Duke faculty who trained in a Combined Residency Program (Medicine-Psychiatry, Neurology-Psychiatry, Family Medicine-Psychiatry, or the Triple Board), as well as faculty from the departments of Medicine and/or Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences. Learn more about our faculty:

Jane Gagliardi, MD, MHS, FACP, DFAPA
Interim Program Director, Combined Medicine-Psychiatry Residency
Vice Chair for Education, Psychiatry
Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Associate Professor, Department of Medicine
jane.gagliardi@duke.edu
Interests: medical education, overlap areas in medicine and psychiatry, patient safety, and quality improvement

Nabil Ali, MD 
Psychiatry and Neurology
Consulting Associate in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
nabil.ali@dhhs.nc.gov
Interests: brain imaging, translational neurosciences, care at the intersection of neurology and psychiatry

Joshua Briscoe, MD
Medical Instructor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Medical Instructor, Department of Medicine
joshua.briscoe@duke.edu
Interests: Palliative care; hospice; consult-liaison psychiatry; mental health care at the end of life and in severe medical illnesses

Gregory Brown, MD
Instructor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Instructor, Department of Medicine
Medical Director for Behavioral Health, Duke Outpatient Clinic
gregory.brown@dm.duke.edu
Interests: integrated care, collaborative care, outpatient psychiatry consultation

Cerrone Cohen, MD 
Assistant Professor, Family Medicine and Community Health
Assistant Professor, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
cerrone.cohen@duke.edu
Interests: Primary care psychiatry, medical education, and integrated care

Jacob Feigal, MD
Medical Instructor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Medical Instructor, Department of Medicine
jacob.feigal@duke.edu

Elizabeth Gilbert, MD
Medical Instructor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Medical Instructor, Department of Medicine
elizabeth.b.gilbert@duke.edu
Interests: Endovascular surgical neuroradiology and neuroradiology

Wei “Jan” Jiang, MD
Director, Neuropsychocardiology Laboratory
Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Professor, Department of Medicine
jiang001@mc.duke.edu
Interests: clinical research in mental health and cardiovascular disease, psychosomatic medicine

Bryce Jones, MD
Medical Instructor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Medical Instructor, Department of Medicine
bryce.jones@duke.edu
Interests:  psychosomatic medicine,transplant psychiatry, psycho-oncology, inpatient medicine and psychiatry

Brian Kincaid, MD
Clinical Associate in the Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences
brian.kincaid@dm.duke.edu
Interests:  psychosomatic medicine, inpatient medicine and psychiatry

James Lefler, MD
Assistant Consulting Professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Durham VA Medical Center
jim.lefler@duke.edu
Interests: Resident and Medical Student Education; intersection of severe mental illness and substance use disorders

Gary Maslow, MD, MPH 
Assistant Professor, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Assistant Clinical Professor, School of Nursing
Medical Director for Child Psychiatry Services
Medical Director for Integrated Mental Health Programs
Co-Chief Division of Child and Family Mental Health and Developmental Neurosciences
Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Assistant Professor, Pediatrics
gary.maslow@duke.edu
Interests: Adaptation to chronic illness, transition to adulthood for youth with chronic illness, positive youth development, quality of life.

GenaLynne C. Mooneyham, MD, MS, FAAP, FABPN 
Director, Pediatric Consultation & Liaison Psychiatry Service, Duke Children's Hospital
Co-Director, Autoimmune Brain Disorders Program, Duke Children's Health Center
Assistant Professor, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Assistant Professor, Pediatrics
Director, Psychiatric Undergraduate Medical Education
genalynne.mooneyham@duke.edu
Interests: Medical education, global health and mission work, autoimmune encephalitis, holistic care

Yeshesvini “Vini” Raman, MD
Director, Mental Health Primary Care Clinic, Durham VA Medical Center
Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine
yeshesvini.raman@va.gov
Interests: primary care for the mentally ill, outpatient psychiatry, obesity

Kristen G. Shirey, MD, MHS
Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine
Assistant Professor, Global Health Institute
kristen.shirey@duke.edu
Interests: Global Mental Health, inpatient medicine and psychiatry, psychosomatic medicine

Jason Webb, MD, FAPA
Associate Program Director, Hospice and Palliative Medicine Fellowship
Director, Undergraduate Medical Education, Duke Palliative Care
Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine
Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
jason.webb@dm.duke.edu
Interests:  palliative care, global health, psychosomatic medicine

Joe Zanga, MD
Director, Internal Medicine-Psychiatry Pain Clinic, Durham VA Medical Center
Clinical Associate, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Clinical Associate, Department of Medicine
joe.zanga@dm.duke.edu
Interests:  primary care for the mentally ill, pain medicine