Christopher Witt, MD

Start Year
2018

Basics

Hometown
Trion, GA

College/University
University of Georgia

Medical School
Medical College of Georgia

What additional degrees do you have? 
Masters in Education (MEd.)

What are your career goals? 
To pursue a field in which I can help develop workable methods to prevent new and worsening disease while interacting with patients in a variety of ways including patient education and procedural care in both the inpatient and outpatient settings.

What did you do the summer before internship? 
I spent 4 glorious months staying home with my wife, Ashley and our new son who was born March 3, 2018. 

There are tons of fun things to do in Durham and nearly every night someone is sending out a whole class invite to do something cool together.

Allen Witt

Reflections on the Duke Program

What were you looking for in a residency program? 
I wanted a program with attending physicians who are dedicated to their field and to treating patients and who genuinely enjoy teaching. I wanted a program with residents who work together as a team and put patient care first. I also wanted abundant opportunity and support for research.

What are the strengths of the Duke program? 
The people. Our administration, the entire staff, residents and attendings are all truly genuine and compassionate people who supportive, approachable and extremely competent.

What are your observations about the relationships between faculty and house staff? 
Faculty model excellent patient care and provide direct instruction as needed or requested by house staff.

Tell us about your co-interns. How long did it take to connect? 
Everyone has taken advantage of the events organized by the program and social media in order to get to know each other quickly. There are tons of fun things to do in Durham and nearly every night someone is sending out a whole class invite to do something cool together.

What has surprised you most about Duke? 
I expected it to be a challenging environment with highly competent faculty who conduct high quality research while providing excellent clinical care. However, I was surprised to find that not only is this true but the faculty genuinely enjoy interacting with residents and helping us develop the skills necessary to help our patients and be successful.

About Duke University and Durham

What's best about living in Durham and the Triangle? 
I love living next to Duke Forest because I can easily hit the trails for a quick run after coming home from the hospital. My wife and I really enjoy Duke Gardens, the Durham Performing Arts Center and the food scene. My current favorite restaurants are Monuts, Enzo's and M. Coco. We are looking forward to spending time at Eno State Park soon.

How does the Triangle appeal to people of diverse backgrounds? 
The Triangle is diverse and the people of Durham possess a true appreciation for diversity. This is apparent in the variety of food, music, art, performances, businesses and events in town. It is also apparent in the attitudes of the people who live here. There is an air of openness and acceptance that I find absolutely refreshing.

Where did you choose to live, and why? 
I chose to live in an apartment about 10 minutes from the hospital and near Duke Forest. I wanted to be near trails for running and peace of mind. My wife and I have a new child so we wanted a place that was still close to downtown and grocery stores. We also like that it has a mix of professionals, families, and older adults. 

Based on your life, what advice would you give about moving to Durham? 
There are a lot of options so take time to find what works for you. What I like the most is that traffic is rarely an issue and I find that I am never more than 15 mins away from whatever I may need. If you have small children, there are excellent daycare options for which you get a discount for being affiliated with Duke. My wife would also recommend the Durham Mother's Club and the Duke Partners Club for tips on all sorts of things including Pediatrician recommendations!

What do you like to do outside of medicine? 
Run/Hike, eat out at restaurants, and entertain my 5 month old son.