2 faculty from the Department of Medicine inducted into AAP

Tuesday, April 9, 2019

Two Department Medicine faculty members were inducted into the Association of American Physicians (AAP) during a joint April 6 meeting of the AAP, the American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI) and the American Physician-Scientists Association (APSA). Membership in AAP is a distinction recognizing excellence and outstanding achievement.

Virginia Kraus, MD, PhDVirginia Byers Kraus, MD, PhD
Dr. Kraus, a professor in the Departments of Medicine (Rheumatology and Immunology), Pathology, and Orthopaedic Surgery, researches osteoarthritis, the most prevalent of all forms of arthritis and the second greatest cause of disability worldwide. Her group works to develop novel tools to aid in the diagnosis, prognosis, and effective intervention of the disease. She is a member of the Duke Molecular Physiology Institute and an affiliate of the Regeneration Next Initiative.


Christopher Plowe, MD, MPHChristopher Plowe, MD, MPH
Dr. Plowe is the director of the Duke Global Health Institute and a professor in the Departments of Medicine (Infectious Diseases) and Molecular Genetics and Microbiology. He uses molecular and genetic approaches to track the emergence and spread of drug resistance and to map the “silent reservoir” of malaria parasites responsible for transmission of new infections. He works to accelerate malaria elimination by strengthening local capacities for research and surveillance, and through global health diplomacy that aims to build political will and community support for elimination. 

See a list of all Medicine faculty in AAP.

Read the School of Medicine announcement.