4 Medicine faculty among recipients of new collaborative grant program

Wednesday, March 23, 2016

Four faculty members from the Department of Medicine are among the recipients of a new grant program aimed at fostering interactions between researchers in the School of Medicine and the Duke campus. Eight seed grants were awarded to project teams for "Collaborative Quantitative Approaches to Problems in the Basic and Clinical Sciences."

The teams from Medicine are:

  • “Incorporating dynamic Electronic Health Records data into a model for patient deterioration" Rebecca Steorts (Statistical Science); Benjamin Goldstein (Biostatistics and Bioinformatics); Cara O'Brien (General Internal Medicine).
  • “Joint Modeling of Multiple ’Omics Data for Clinical Research” Ricardo Henao (Electrical and Computer Engineering); Micah McClain (Infectious Diseases); Ephraim Tsalik (Infectious Diseases); Deepak Voora (Cardiology)
  • “Predicting REaDmissions to Improve Care Transitions for Heart Failure (PREDICT-HF)” Katherine Heller (Statistical Science); Zubin Eapan (Cardiology)

The recipients will each receive $50,000 in support. Read a full list of awardees.