5 Medicine faculty recognized by the School of Medicine

Wednesday, April 14, 2021

We are proud to announce the following Department of Medicine faculty who are being recognized with awards given annually by the School of Medicine.

Mitchell Heflin, MD, professor of medicine (Geriatrics), received the Leonard Palumbo Jr., MD, Faculty Achievement Award, which recognizes a member of the School of Medicine faculty who displays dedication to compassionate patient care and excellence in the teaching and mentoring of young physicians.

Kevin Thomas, MD, associate professor of medicine (Cardiology) received the Excellence in Professionalism Award, which recognizes the importance of promoting ethical and professional behavior within our community. This award is presented annually to a faculty member who exemplifies professionalism and personifies Duke’s guiding principles of respect, trustworthiness, diversity, teamwork, and learning.

Two faculty received Research Mentoring Awards, which were established in 2009 to recognize faculty members in the Schools of Medicine and Nursing with excellence in research mentoring. The recipients from the Department are:

  • Kimberly Johnson, MD, MHS, professor of medicine (Geriatrics), received the Career Mentoring Award in clinical/population health science.
  • Robert Mentz, MD, associate professor of medicine (Cardiology), received the Early Career Mentoring Award in clinical/population health science.

Terry Fortin, MD, associate professor of medicine (Cardiology) received the Master Clinician/Teacher Award, which honors individuals with superlative accomplishment and service in the areas of clinical care and teaching. Awards are given to recognize clinical practitioners who exemplify the highest standards of clinical care, pedagogy, and professionalism or to basic scientists who achieve distinction in pedagogy and professionalism.

View the full list of award recipients on the School's website.