Abraham, Barkauskus, Karra receive 2012 Chair's Research Award

Wednesday, March 28, 2012

Mary Klotman, MD, chair of the department, and Monica Kraft, MD, vice chair for research, announced the recipients of the 2012 Chair's Research Award, which funds junior investigators who are making the transition to becoming independent scientists prior to their acquisition of extramural funding.

Recipients of the award, and the titles of their research projects:

Dennis Abraham, MD
Cardiology Fellow
TREK-1 Mediates Diastolic Dysfunction

Christina Barkauskas, MD
Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine Fellow
The role of alveolar epithelial cells in the pathogenesis of pulmonary fibrosis

Ravi Karra, MD, MHS
Cardiology Fellow
Secreted Biomarkers for Heart Regeneration