Boulware and Klotman elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Friday, April 23, 2021

Four senior faculty members at Duke including two faculty members from the Department of Medicine have been named Fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS). The recipients — all women — represent four of 252 total members elected this year. Founded in 1780, the Academy honors exceptional scholars, leaders, artists, and innovators and engages them in sharing knowledge and addressing challenges facing the world.

“We are honoring the excellence of these individuals, celebrating what they have achieved so far, and imagining what they will continue to accomplish,” said David Oxtoby, the President of the Academy. “The past year has been replete with evidence of how things can get worse; this is an opportunity to illuminate the importance of art, ideas, knowledge, and leadership that can make a better world.” 

Members from the Department of Medicine are:

L. Ebony Boulware , MD, MPH, Chief of the Division of General Internal Medicine in the Department of Medicine Vice Dean for Translational Science, Director of the Duke Clinical and Translational Science Institute (CTSI), and Eleanor Easley Distinguished Professor in the School of Medicine; Associate Vice Chancellor for Translational Research at Duke University 

Dr. Boulware Is a general internist and clinical and translational scientist who works to improve health and health equity, particularly for individuals and communities affected by chronic health conditions such as kidney disease. As director of CTSI, she helps researchers conduct innovative and impactful research to improve health and health equity for individuals, their families, and their communities. 

Mary E. Klotman, MD, Dean of the Duke University School of Medicine, Vice-Chancellor of Health Affairs at Duke University, R.J. Reynolds Distinguished Professor of Medicine

An accomplished clinician and scientist, Dean Klotman’s research interests are focused on the molecular pathogenesis of Human Immunodeficiency Virus 1 (HIV-1) infection. Among many important contributions to this field, Klotman and her team demonstrated that HIV resides in and evolves separately in kidney cells, a critical step in HIV-associated kidney disease. Her research group also has determined the role of soluble host factors involved in an innate immune response to HIV in an effort to improve prevention strategies.

Read the full story on the School of Medicine website.