Chief Residents for 2018-19 announced

Thursday, January 19, 2017

Mary Klotman, MD, chair of the department, Aimee Zaas, MD, MHS, program director of the Internal Medicine Residency Program, and David Simel, MD, vice chair for Veterans Affairs, have announced the Chief Residents for the 2018-19 academic year.

It is with great pride that we announce the 2018-19 Chief Residents for the Duke Internal Medicine Residency Program. We are proud to partner with the Durham VA Medical Center and Duke Regional Hospital in selecting these outstanding individuals who join in an important and longstanding tradition.

The Chief Residents are chosen for their leadership skills and clinical acumen and are the most representative faces of the Internal Medicine Residency program for the year.

We look forward to our Chief Residents serving as teachers, role models, and colleagues to our residents. Please join us in congratulating them and welcoming them into the residency program leadership.

Duke University Hospital

Jenny Van Kirk, MD
Dr. Van Kirk is a graduate of Bradley University and Georgetown University School of Medicine. She will be a hospitalist at Duke University Hospital beginning in July 2017.

Durham VA Medical Center

Kara Wegermann, MD 
Dr. Wegermann is a graduate of Stanford University and Harvard Medical School. She will be a fellow in the Division of Gastroenterology beginning in July 2017.

Duke Regional Hospital/Ambulatory Medicine

Winn Seay, MD 
Dr. Seay is a graduate of Duke University and Harvard Medical School. He will be a fellow in the Division of Nephrology beginning in July 2017.

Please give Jenny, Kara and Winn your congratulations! We look forward to their leadership.

Learn more about the chief residents and view a list of former chief residents.