Chief Residents for 2021-2022 announced

Friday, January 31, 2020

Jessica Regan, MD; Dennis Narcisse, MD; Nancy Yang, MDKathleen Cooney, MD, chair of the department, Aimee Zaas, MD, MHS, program director of the Internal Medicine Residency Program, and David Simel, MD, vice chair for Veterans Affairs, have announced the Chief Residents for the 2021-2022 academic year.

Chief residents are selected in their final year of residency and typically complete one year of fellowship before returning to start their chief resident year.

Please join us in congratulating the following residents who were selected to be 2021-2022 Chief Residents:

Duke University Hospital

Jessica Regan, MD
Jessica is a graduate of the University of Arizona and Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine. She will be completing the R38 Research Pathway for residents in 2020-21. See her profile.  

Durham VA Medical Center

Dennis Narcisse, MD, MS
Dennis is a graduate of Mississippi State University and The University of Tennessee College of Medicine. He will be a fellow in Cardiology in 2020-21. See his profile. 

Duke Regional Hospital/Ambulatory Medicine

Nancy Yang, MD
Nancy is a graduate of Duke University and The Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai. She will be a fellow in Gastroenterology in 2020-21. See her profile.

The Chief Residents are a key part of the medicine residency team, providing invaluable leadership, teaching and support for our trainees. Our incoming chiefs join a strong tradition of resident leadership, and we look forward to their contributions to the Department of Medicine.

Learn more about the chief residents and view a list of former chief residents.