Congratulations to the Department of Medicine's Duke Health Scholars and Fellows

Wednesday, November 2, 2016

The Duke School of Medicine announced today that 38 of its faculty have been named to the Duke Health Scholars and Duke Health Fellows Program.

Among the faculty honored are 14 individuals from the Department of Medicine.

"This inaugural program was created with a transfer of funds from the Duke University Health System," said Nancy Andrews, MD, PhD, dean of the School of Medicine. "Its aim is to support the research efforts and enhance the academic success of early to mid-career clinician-scientists in School of Medicine clinical departments."

Duke Health Scholars are faculty who generally are more established in their research paths; they will receive substantial awards to expand their research in new directions. Twelve Medicine faculty were selected as Duke Health Scholars.

Duke Health Fellows will receive a smaller research discretionary fund and expert mentoring tailored to their interests and career aspirations. Two Medicine faculty were selected.

"This program represents an ideal alignment between Duke University Health System, the School of Medicine, and the clinical departments — it realizes that the success of Duke is the integration of all of its missions," said Mary Klotman, MD, chair of the Department of Medicine.

Award recipients were nominated by their department chairs and selected through peer review. In the Department of Medicine, Scott Palmer, MD, vice chair for research, coordinated a nomination and review process that produced strong research descriptions backed by letters of support from division chiefs.

"The Department of Medicine is extremely proud of our 14 DOM faculty chosen for these honors  because it recognizes their outstanding work in their respective fields," said Dr. Palmer. "We believe their awards will be critical to spur them to further success as Duke clinician-scientists."

Duke Health Scholars from Medicine

  • Gowthami M. Arepally, MD (Hematology)
  • Christina Barkauskas, MD (Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine)
  • Steven Crowley, MD (Nephrology)
  • Sandeep Dave, MD (Hematological Maglignancies and Cellular Therapy)
  • Susan Gurley, MD, PhD (Nephrology)
  • Brent Hanks, MD, PhD (Medical Oncology)
  • Kimberly Johnson, MD (Geriatrics)
  • Julia Scialla, MD (Nephrology)
  • Svati Shah, MD (Cardiology)
  • Dorothy Sipkins, MD, PhD (Hematological Malignancies and Cellular Therapy)
  • Steve Taylor, MD (Infectious Diseases)
  • Heather Whitson, MD (Geriatrics)

Duke Health Fellows from Medicine

  • Christopher Holley, MD, PhD (Cardiology)
  • Sudarshan Rajagopal, MD, PhD (Cardiology)