Cooney named new chair of Department of Medicine

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Dean Mary Klotman, MD, has announced today that Kathleen Cooney, MD, will be the new chair of the Department of Medicine, effective Aug. 1, 2018. Dr. Cooney is the H.A. and Edna Benning Presidential Endowed Professor and chair of the Department of Internal Medicine at the University of Utah School of Medicine. A medical oncologist, she is also a member of the Huntsman Cancer Institute. 

Dr. Cooney will be the 12th chair of the Department of Medicine over its 88-year history.

Read the full announcement.

Watch Dr. Cooney's Medicine Grand Rounds presentation, "Building on a Tradition of Excellence," from Nov. 13, 2017.