Department selects five for Chair's Research Award, bridge funding

Thursday, April 7, 2016

Mary Klotman, MD, chair of the department, and Scott Palmer, MD, MHS, vice chair for research, have announced the recipients of the 2016 Chair’s Research Award.

The annual award funds junior investigators who are making the transition to becoming independent scientists prior to their acquisition of extramural funding.

This year, four individuals will receive funding through these awards. Each will receive up to $75,000 in salary support for one year.

Recipients of the 2016 Chair's Award, and the titles of their research projects:

Robert McGarrah
Fellow, Cardiovascular Disease
Research project: A New Metabolic Regulatory Node in Myocardial Fuel Selection
Mentor: Christopher Newgard, PhD

James Wisler
Fellow, Cardiovascular Disease
Research project: Molecular mechanisms of aortic anueurysm formation
Mentor: Robert Lefkowitz, MD

Joshua Thaden
Fellow, Infectious Diseases
Research project: Genetic Basis for Resistance and Virulence of E. coli Blood Stream Infections
Mentor: Vance Fowler, MD

Ammon Fager
Fellow, Hematology-Oncology
Research prpoject: Identifying Novel Mechanisms Regulating the Therapeutic Efficacy of Factor VIIa
Mentor: Maureane Hoffman, MD, PhD

Bridge Funding

Bryan Kraft, MD, medical instructor in the Department of Medicine (Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine), will receive funding through the Department's Career Development Bridge Funding Program.

Dr. Kraft's research project is “Role of S-nitrosothiols in Akt1 signaling and pneumonia resolution."