Department welcomes new faculty

Thursday, September 21, 2017

On Tues., Sept. 19, the Department of Medicine hosted a welcome event for new faculty at the Washington Duke Inn.

Joseph Rogers, MD, Interim Chair of the Department, greeted new faculty.

"I want to extend our heartfelt welcome to new faculty," Dr. Rogers said. "We are happy to have you here and to offer a way for you to get to know each other and the Department leadership."

Welcome to all of the new faculty in the Department of Medicine, hired as of Jan. 1, 2017:

Name Division

Antonio Gutierrez


Ashwani Sastry

Neha Pagidipati Cardiology
Sean Pokorney Cardiology
Stuart Russell Cardiology
Afreen Shariff Endocrinology, Metabolism and Nutrition
Carly Kelley Endocrinology, Metabolism and Nutrition
Anna Veerappan Gastroenterology
Bonike Oloruntoba Gastroenterology
Darshan Kothari Gastroenterology
Jiangbo Wang Gastroenterology
Joshua Spaete Gastroenterology
Reinaldo Quevedo Gastroenterology
Scharles Konadu Gastroenterology
Juan Marcos Gonzalez General Internal Medicine
Kevin Shah General Internal Medicine
Lawrence Mumm General Internal Medicine
Leslie Thomas General Internal Medicine
Oliver Glass General Internal Medicine
Barrett Bowling Geriatrics
Kathryn Starr Geriatrics
Neema Sharda Geriatrics
Ahmed Galal Hematologic Malignancies
Alexandra Stefanovic Hematologic Malignancies
Cristiana Costa Hematologic Malignancies
Taewoong Choi Hematologic Malignancies
Ewa Wysokinska Hematology
Srikala Addepalli Hematology
Nathan Nicely HVI
Robert Edwards HVI
Becky Smith Infectious Diseases
Christopher Hostler Infectious Diseases
Joshua Thaden Infectious Diseases
Maria Blasi Infectious Diseases
Carol Traynor Nephrology
John Duronville Nephrology
John Stanifer Nephrology
Jason Somarelli Medical Oncology
Jennifer Choe Medical Oncology
Jeremy Force Medical Oncology
Kevin Oeffinger Medical Oncology
Meira Epplein Medical Oncology
Amber Oberle Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine
Anne Matthews Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine
Devon Paul Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine
Lorenzo Zaffiri Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine
Peter Bressler Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine
Stephen Bergin Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine
Zachary Healy Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine
Jennifer Rogers Rheumatology and Immunology
Kai Sun Rheumatology and Immunology
Sophia Weinmann Rheumatology and Immunology