Duke Internal Medicine Chief Residents for 2022-2023 announced

Thursday, February 11, 2021

Kathleen Cooney, MD, MACP, chair of the department, Aimee Zaas, MD, MHS, program director of the Duke Internal Medicine Residency Program, and David Simel, MD, vice chair for Veterans Affairs, have announced the Chief Residents for the 2022-2023 academic year.

Chief residents are selected in their final year of residency and typically complete one year of fellowship before returning to start their chief resident year.

Please join us in congratulating the following residents who were selected to be 2022-2023 Chief Residents:

Lonnie Sullivan, MD
Duke University Hospital
Lonnie is a graduate of the Morehouse College and Duke University School of Medicine. He will be a fellow in Cardiology in 2021-22. See his profile.
Sara Coles, MD
Durham VA Medical Center

Sara is a graduate of Azusa Pacific University and The Ohio State University College of Medicine. She will be a fellow in Cardiology in 2021-22. See her profile.
Nathaniel Harris, MD, PhD
Duke Regional Hospital/Ambulatory Medicine

Nathaniel is a graduate of North Carolina State University and Duke University School of Medicine. He will be a fellow in Rheumatology and Immunology in 2021-22. See his profile.

The Chief Residents are a key part of the medicine residency team, providing invaluable leadership, teaching and support for our trainees. Our incoming chiefs join a strong tradition of resident leadership, and we look forward to their contributions to the Department of Medicine.

Learn more about the chief residents and view a list of former chief residents.