Duke Internal Medicine Chief Residents recognize 2021 education award recipients

Friday, June 4, 2021

The Duke Internal Medicine Chief Residents Matthew Labriola, MD; Stephanie Garbarino, MDHannah Dzimitrowicz, MD; and Govind Krishnan, MD; presented awards honoring excellence in the Department of Medicine's education mission at Medicine Grand Rounds on Fri., June 4.

During the presentation, the chief residents recognized medical students, residents, fellows and faculty for their service and excellence in teaching.  View the presentation recording here

2021 Education Awards Recipients

Appleseed Awards for Outstanding Teaching

  • Sebastian Franco, MD, PGY-2
  • Cindy Pabon, MD, PGY-3
  • Aaron Hein, MD, PGY-2
  • Cameron Oswalt, MD, PGY-3
  • Karina Mora Massad, MD, PGY-2
  • Nick Ashur, MD, PGY-3
  • Peggy Sahu, MD, PGY-2
  • Amber Meservev, MD, PGY-2
  • Sean Chen, MD, PGY-3
  • John Barber, MD, PGY-1
  • Kristin Binz, MD, PGY-1 
  • Emory Buck, MD, PGY-1
  • Tyler Couch, MD, PGY-1
  • Zachary Lorsch, MD, PhD, PGY-1

Lecocq Award for Outstanding Senior Resident Talk

  • Alex Reddy, MD, PGY-3

Fellow Teaching Award

  • Kelly Arps, MD (Cardiovascular Disease)

Housestaff Community Service Award

  • Cindy Pabon, MD, PGY-3

Amit Bhaskar Compassion in Medicine Award

  • Yolanda Guzman, MD, PGY-3

Bruce Dixon Award

  • Ahmad Mourad, MD, PGY-3 

Haskell Schiff Award

  • Lonnie Sullivan, MD, PGY-3

Duke Regional Teaching Award

Ambulatory Medicine Teaching Award

VA Faculty Teaching Award

Best LEADS Conference: 

Best Medicine Grand Rounds:

  • Peter Kussin, MD; Neelima Navuluri, MD, MPH; Bill Hargett, MD; Harris Solomon, PhD
    Title: Rubber Bands, Empty Cups, Glass Doors & Heroes: An Ethnography of Hospital Work and Resilience during COVID-19
    (View recording

Research Mentoring Award

Eugene Stead Award

Outstanding Service Award

  • Dan Katzenberger, PharmD, BCPS, BCCP

Inaugural Adam "Jennings" Brock Resident Well-Being Award

  • Trent Wei, MD, PGY-3