Duke Internal Medicine Chief Residents recognize education award recipients

Friday, June 5, 2020

The Duke Internal Medicine Chief Residents Jared Lowe, MD; Amanda Boyd, MD; Caroline Sloan, MD; and Lara Hayes, MD, presented awards honoring excellence in the Department of Medicine's education mission at Medicine Grand Rounds on Fri., June 5.

During the presentation, the chief residents recognized medical students, residents, fellows and faculty for their service and excellence in teaching, especially in response to COVID-19 (see full awards list below). View the recording of Medicine Grand Rounds.

Outstanding Service Award

The Department of Medicine honored Ralph Corey, MD, professor of medicine (Infectious Diseases) and Gary Hock Distinguished Professor in Global Health, in the School of Medicine, with the Outstanding Service Award, the Department's highest honor.

"Dr. Corey has had a profound effect on generations of Duke physicians, and we are so proud to call you our own," said Kathleen Cooney, MD, chair of the Department of Medicine. "Ralph you are a shining example of the best each of us can be as physicians, and I am delighted to bestow upon you the Department's highest honor, the Outstanding Service Award."

Listen to an audio tribute to Dr. Corey from some of the many Duke physicians whom he has mentored:

2020 Education Awards Recipients

Appleseed Awards for Outstanding Teaching

  • Ryan Duffy, MD, PGY-1
  • Nathan Hirshman, MD, PGY-1
  • Joyce Hwang, MD, PGY-1
  • SriyaMuralidharan, MD, PGY-1
  • SitharthanSekar, MD, PGY-1
  • Rachel Tobin, MD, PGY-1
  • Marge DeOliveira, MD, PGY-3
  • Sam Dizon, MD, PGY-2
  • Nathanial Harris, MD, PhD, PGY-2
  • Neha Kayastha, MD, PGY-2
  • Chester Kao, MD, PGY-2
  • Ahmad Mourad, MD, PGY-2
  • Lonnie Sullivan, MD, PGY-2
  • Trent Wei, MD, PGY-2
  • Matt Carlisle, MD, PGY-3
  • Anthony Horton, MD, PGY-3
  • Allie Mara, MD, PGY-3

Lecocq Award for Outstanding Senior Resident Talk

Fellow Teaching Award

  • Rahul Loungani, MD (Cardiovascular Disease)

Housestaff Community Service Award

  • Jordan Gales, MD, PGY-3
  • Tamara Saint-Surin, MD, PGY-3

Amit Bhaskar Compassion in Medicine Award

  • Steven Pappas, MD, PGY-3

Bruce Dixon Award

  • James Deardorff, MD, PGY-3

Duke Regional Teaching Award

Ambulatory Medicine Teaching Award

VA Faculty Teaching Award

Research Mentoring Award

Eugene Stead Award

In special recognition for their service to the Durham VA Health System during the COVID-19 global pandemic, the following faculty were presented with Department of Veterans Affairs Challenge Coins: