Duke Internal Medicine Residency Program celebrates resident research

Monday, May 8, 2017

The Internal Medicine Residency Program held its annual Resident Research Night on May 4.

The event included a poster session and presentations by the Califf Medicine Research Award nominees,  the annual research prizes dedicated to promoting resident research. 

Califf Medicine Research Award Winners

First Place

Julia Xu, MD, for "Factors related to progressive renal function decline in sickle cell disease." Mentor: Marilyn J. Telen, MD

Second Place

Kahli Zietlow, MD, for "Comparative outcomes of patients with and without cognitive impairment, within a comprehensive peri-operative assessment program." Mentor: Mitchell Heflin, MD

Third Place

Landon Brown, MD, for "Predictors of net acid excretion in the chronic renal insufficiency cohort study." Mentor: Julia Scialla, MD, MHS

Best Research Poster Awards

Lauren Collins, MD, "Direct-Acting Antivirals improve access to care and cure for patients with HIV and Chronic Hepatitis C Virus from 2011-2015." Mentor: Susanna Naggie.

Anubha Agarwal, MD, "Association Between Socioeconomic Position and Cardiovascular Disease Risk Factors in Rural India: The Solan Surveillance Study." Mentor: Mark D. Huffman.

Wynn Hunter, MD, MHSc, "Circulating High Density Lipoprotein Particle Profiles are Differentially Altered in Heart Failure with Preserved versus Reduced Ejection Fraction and Predict All-Cause Mortality." Mentor: Svati H. Shah.

Shai Posner, MD, "Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease Symptom Correlation with Ambulatory pH-Metry and Esophageal High Resolution Manometry in Lung Transplant Candidates." Mentor: David Leiman.

Best Medicine Grand Rounds

Megan Clowse, MD, MPH, associate professor of medicine (Rheumatology and Immunology)

Joseph C. Greenfield, Jr. Research Mentorship Award

Mary Klotman, MD, chair and professor of the Department of Medicine