Duke Medical Alumni Association honors two Medicine faculty

Tuesday, May 20, 2014

Two Department of Medicine faculty have been honored with 2015 Distinguished Awards by the Duke Medical Alumni Association.

Thomas Coffman, MD

Screen Shot 2014-05-20 at 8.50.19 AM

Tom Coffman, MD, professor of medicine and chief of the Division of Nephrology, received a Distinguished Faculty Award.

This award honors those faculty members who have brought distinction to themselves, credit to the school and university, and benefit to their communities through their vocation.

Awards recognize excellence in teaching medical students in the basic sciences or clinical medicine and/or longstanding achievements, contributions, and leadership in research or academic programs of Duke University School of Medicine.

Read Dr. Coffman's bio in DukeMed Alumni News.

Screen Shot 2014-05-20 at 8.50.53 AM

James R. Clapp, MD

James R. Clapp, MD, professor of medicine emeritus (Nephrology), received the Honorary Alumnus Award.

This award recognizes outstanding individuals, who while not graduates of the School of Medicine, have made significant contributions to its educational mission.

Honorees demonstrate support of medical education and residency/fellowship training; the desire to leave their own legacy at Duke University and the School of Medicine; and serve as models of physician responsibility to patients, students, colleagues and community members.

Read Dr. Clapp's bio in DukeMed Alumni News.