Faculty Spotlight: Jeremy Cypen, MD

Sunday, July 15, 2018

We were thrilled to have Jeremy Cypen, MD, join our division earlier this month as a Medical Instructor after finishing up his internal medicine residency here at Duke. Learn more about him in our interview below!

Where do you work?
I will be working mostly at the Durham VA as a Hospitalist, but will also have a Faculty appointment at Duke

How did you get in to this specific field? 
My Gen Med rotations in residency, while some of my most challenging, were some of the most rewarding and interesting times in residency for me, so becoming a Hospitalist was really the perfect opportunity to expound on my interest in general medicine as a whole.

What brought you to Duke? 
Well, I did my residency here and my wife is finishing up her residency in Ophthalmology, so staying at Duke was a natural choice.

Is there any research you are doing or plan on doing? 
I'm not currently involved in any research, but look forward to getting involved in some QI research at the VA when I start -- I have a particular interest in how changes/improvements to the EMR can improve patient care.

What are your hobbies or interests outside of work?
I'm a big sports nut, both playing and watching. My two favorite sports are basketball and football, but I like most sports. Having the World Cup going on this summer has really made it difficult to study for my upcoming Board exams...I also really love the opportunity to just turn my brain off and be entertained so I watch a lot of movies. But my favorite hobby is spending time with my wife and my puppy, whether it's on the couch or on a hike around one of the any fabulous trails throughout Durham.

Any trips you've taken recently that you would like to share? 
My wife and I went to Hawaii recently for the first time! Got really sunburnt when we accidentally fell asleep by the pool on arrival. Sadly, the weather wasn't great the rest of the trip, but the island was really pretty and we were able to go on a few nice hikes.

What is a fun fact about yourself? 
I'm half-Moroccan. My mom was born in Casablanca and spent the first 17 years of her life living there. I visited once for 3 days while in college, but hope to go back for a bit longer sometime.

What is your favorite food? 
Italian food is my favorite overall, but for a single dish I'd have to go with Chicken Tikka Masala with rice and garlic naan.

What is your favorite restaurant? 
I really like Vin Rouge for French food and Viceroy for Indian. Otherwise, Pompieri's for pizza is another favorite of mine.