New class selected for Faculty Development Academy

Tuesday, October 4, 2016

Mary Klotman, MD, chair of the Department of Medicine, and Laura Svetkey, MD, vice chair for faculty development and diversity, have announced the Faculty Development Academy Class of 2016.

The incoming class is made up of 45 junior faculty from across the Department. 

"We have another great group of junior faculty who are solidly on the path to success in the various academic paths represented by the four branches of the Academy. They will be ably guided by a terrific group of senior faculty, who are committed to fostering their further success," Dr. Svetkey said.

View a list of the new class

The current (third) cohort of the Faculty Development Academy will kick off at a reception on Oct. 20, hosted by Klotman and Svetkey.

The Department of Medicine created the Faculty Development Academy in 2011 to address individual faculty development needs, supplement ongoing mentorship, and develop junior faculty in four high priority career tracks:

Any regular-rank DOM faculty member can apply to become a Fellow of the Academy, but the program is specifically designed to serve those at the Instructor and Assistant Professor levels.