Staff Spotlight: Clare Il'GIovine

Friday, October 27, 2017

Did you ever wonder who the face behind our website and weekly eNews was? Well, now you know! Her name is Clare Il'Giovine, the division's Communications Strategist. 

What brought you to Duke? How long have you been in the division? My husband, Zach, and I are originally from the Cleveland, Ohio area (go Cavs!) and we moved to Durham the summer of 2015 for his Internal Medicine Residency here at Duke. I was thrilled to come across this opportunity to work for Duke GIM, it has been an exciting experience and there’s always something new for me to learn!

What does your work as a Communications Strategist involve? What does a typical day for you look like?
The reason I love my position so much is because I get to work in a wide variety of disciplines. My job covers social media, newsletter creation, blog writing, video production, graphic design, website design and management, analytics, photography and more! No two days are ever the same. Outside of GIM,  I also do communications for the Duke Center for Community and Population Health Improvement and a PCORI funded research study called PREPARE NOW, both lead by GIM Chief, Dr. Ebony Boulware. 

What do you enjoy most about working in the Division of GIM?

I knew very little about the medical field before I started working in the division and I am blown away by the amazing work that goes on here! It is truly fascinating to be a part of an organization with such great patient care, education, and research taking place. I work with a talented and fun group of staff and am grateful to be part of the team! 

What’s one thing you’d like everyone in the division to know?
I love hearing about all the exciting things happening in GIM and keeping everyone informed! If you give a talk, have a new research project, know of an idea or event that would be of interest to your colleagues, please send me an email and let me know! 

What passions or hobbies do you have outside of the Division?

Outside of work, I enjoy spending time with my family, cooking, playing sports, hiking and enjoying the outdoors. I have always played basketball, but just recently joined a women's volleyball league in Cary, and have really enjoyed it.

What is a fun fact about yourself?pictured from left to right: (brother) Craig, (mother) Kim, Clare, (brother) Chris, (brother) Joe

I am just shy of 6 feet tall, but am the shortest member of my immediate family. I have 3 older brothers that make me look short (see photo for evidence).

pictured from left to right: (brother) Craig, (mother) Kim, Clare, (brother) Chris, (brother) Joe