Two from Medicine receive awards from the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine

Wednesday, October 9, 2019

Two faculty from the Department of Medicine have been recognized with awards from the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine (AAHPM).

Kimberly Johnson, MDKimberly S. Johnson, MD, MSHS, is the inaugural recipient of the Richard Payne Outstanding Achievement in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Award. This award will be presented annually to an individual who demonstrates strong, lasting, personal and professional commitment to improving care for diverse, vulnerable and underrepresented patient populations.

Dr. Johnson  is the director of Duke REACH Equity (Duke Center for Research to Advance Health Care Equity) and an associate professor of medicine (Geriatrics) and Senior Fellow in the Center for the Study of Aging and Human Development. 

Thomas LeBlanc, MDThomas LeBlanc, MD, MA, HMS, FAAHPM, associate professor of medicine (Hematologic Malignancies and Cellular Therapy) received the Early Career Investigator Award, which recognizes a member of AAHPM who is developing as a research leader, showing promise of making contributions to the development of a scientific foundation for practice and research, conducting or facilitating research by others that advances the field of hospice and palliative medicine, has a beginning record of scientific publications, and contributes to the AAHPM community at large. 

Dr. LeBlanc is making an impact at the interface of hematologic malignancies and palliative care. Through his research he has demonstrated the extensive burden of symptoms and psychosocial distress that comes along with a hematologic diagnosis. LeBlanc brings a wealth of clinical experience as a hematologic oncologist, as well as a thoughtful and pragmatic approach to integrating the fields of hematologic oncology and palliative care.