Diversity Equity Inclusion

The Department of Medicine Minority Recruitment and Retention Committee and has announced that Darrell M. Gray, II, MD, MPH, FACG,  associate professor, College of Medicine at The Ohio State University, will give the Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Medicine Grand Rounds presentation on Fri., Jan. 15, 2021 at 12 p.m. virtually on Zoom.

Shawn M. Bediako, PhD, will give the 2020 Phillips-Winn Memorial Medicine Grand Rounds virtually at 12 p.m. on Fri., Nov. 20, 2020. 

Julius Wilder, MD, PhD, will serve as vice chair of the Minority Recruitment and Retention Committee focusing on Black faculty.

The Program for Women in Internal Medicine will host Mandy K. Cohen, MD, MPH, for the annual Clipp-Speer Women in Medicine Visiting Professor Medicine Grand Rounds presentation on Fri., Oct. 9, at 12 p.m. over Zoom.

Daniella Zipkin, MD, associate professor of medicine (General Internal Medicine), will serve as chair of the Program for Women in Internal Medicine effective Oct. 1, announced Laura Svetkey, MD, MHS, vice chair for faculty development and diversity in the Department of Medicine.

The Department of Medicine is actively working to embed diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) into everything we do. 

There are many existing and soon-to-launch activities in the Department of Medicine for faculty and trainees to participate in.

"My hope is that you will find an opportunity to help make our department a place in which each person feels included, respected, and valued," says Dr. Svetkey.

A commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion and to being an anti-racist department requires that we know more about the history of our institution and its relationship to the people of Durham.
That will be the topic of Medicine Grand Rounds on August 14, when Jeffrey Baker, MD, PhD, will present “Forgotten Voices: Confronting Duke Hospital's Racial Past.”

The Duke School of Medicine is honoring two members of the Department of Medicine as 2020 recipients of the Michelle P. Winn Inclusive Excellence Award.


Subscribe to Diversity Equity Inclusion