Four Department of Medicine faculty members have been named recipients of the 2022 Duke University School of Medicine (SOM) faculty awards.

Congratulations to the faculty from the Department of Medicine who were selected as winners of the inaugural 2021 DCRI/DIHI Innovation Campfire season. 

The Feb. 9, 2021 session of Duke Medicine LEADS featured a discussion led by John Duronville, MD, and Dinushika Mohottige, MD, MPH, "Case Dissection: Confronting Structural Racism and Implicit Bias."

Panelist included, Manesh Patel, MDGeorge Yankey, MDAndy Mumm, MDYolanda Guzman, MD; and Jon Reichstein, MD, who weighed in for the health equities and disparities in medicine discussion.

Kathleen Cooney, MD, Professor and Chair of the Department of Medicine, Manesh Patel, MD, chief of the Division of Cardiology, and Vance Fowler, MD, MHS, are among 12 faculty who have been recognized with Distinguished Professorships from the School of Medicine in 2020.

The Duke Institute for Health Innovation (DIHI) has announced the recipients of the 2019 Innovation Awards, which support high-potential innovation projects in the areas of population health and analytics, novel patient interactions, new and team-based models of care, and optimization of patient flow. 

Seven of the 10 funded project teams include faculty and trainees from the Department of Medicine, and five of the funded projects are led by principal investigators from Medicine.

Three Department of Medicine faculty members have been elected to the American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI) Class of 2017. 

Mary Klotman, MD, chair of the Department of Medicine, announced that Manesh Patel, MD, will serve as the next Chief of the Division of Cardiology.

Several Medicine faculty and trainees were in the news this week.

Manesh Patel, MD, assistant professor of medicine (Cardiology), speaks with Duke residents as part of the Stead Attending Rounds at Duke University


Subscribe to PatelManesh