Joshua  Lee
House Staff

Start Year: 2020

Where is your hometown?

Grand Blanc, Michigan

Education and Training

College/University: Grand Valley State University

Medical School: University of Michigan School of Medicine

Residency: Duke University Medical Center

Honors and Awards

Alpha Omega Alpha -- University of Michigan Medical School 2017

Outstanding Poster Presentation – ACG 2018

Fellow Perspective

Tell us briefly about your background before embarking on your medical training: 

I grew up in Michigan and did all my training there prior to residency. My dad worked for General Motors and my mom works as a physical therapy assistant in Flint. I was the first person in my family to go to undergrad and later go to medical school. I knew from an early age that I wanted to pursue a career in medicine and have been very grateful to have the training opportunities that I’ve had. Spending most of my life in the Midwest I knew I wanted to experience what it was like to live in a different (and warmer) part of the country. I have family who live in the Charlotte area which helped influence ending up at Duke for residency. 

Please outline your career plans in gastroenterology (If you know it at this point in your training):

I am still in my first few months of fellowship so I am definitely open to many different career pathways. Currently, I am interested in pursuing a career in advanced endoscopy.  

What were you looking for in a fellowship program?

I was looking for a program with an overall friendly and approachable culture that balances fellow autonomy with attending oversight and teaching. I also wanted to train somewhere where I would be exposed to all the different aspects of GI, so I would feel comfortable taking care of a diverse set of patients when I am practicing as an attending.

What advice might you offer residents looking at fellowship programs?

Have fun with the process! It is definitely exciting to check out what all the programs have to offer and help build relationships with faculty at different institutions. You will definitely get a feel for the culture of each program on interview day which will help determine what is the best fit for you.

From your experience in fellowship, what have you learned about training at Duke?

Duke is an amazing place to train overall. You are able to experience a wide range of pathology throughout your training here as people are coming from all around North Carolina and the surrounding southeast area.  The culture here is very friendly and the attendings are invested in fellow education.

How is your life in the Triangle area outside of work? 

My wife and I just bought a house around 10 minutes away from the hospital which is very convenient for commuting. One of the perks of Durham is you can afford to buy a nice house on a fellows salary that is close to work. There are lots of great neighborhoods and running trails nearby to walk/run after work or on your days off. We also enjoy working on new projects around the house.

What is your favorite restaurant in Durham?

It is definitely hard to pick just one. Durham and the surrounding triangle have many great restaurant options. For pizza, you can't go wrong with Pizzeria Toro in Downtown Durham. Bull City Burger has one of the best burgers in town with some very creative options. 

Please tell us about some of your hobbies and interests outside of work:

I enjoy discovering new running trails near our home. Also have enjoyed taking care of our new yard this summer and have been tackling some home improvement projects complete with many trips to Lowe’s.

House Staff