Faculty Development Academy Gets Off to a Strong Start

On September 27, the Department of Medicine (DOM) kicked off the academic year for new members of the Faculty Development Academy (FDA), one of the unique programs offered by the department to provide on-going mentorship and development for career track members.

Department Chair Kathleen Cooney, MD, opened the event at Trent Semans Great Hall, congratulating the new cohort. Carla Brady, MD, MHS, vice chair for Faculty Development, moderated a panel discussion with faculty members Toyosi Onwuemene, MD, MS, associate professor, Hematology, John Roberts, MD, MEd, MS, associate professor, Nephrology, Jatin Roper, MD, assistant professor, Gastroenterology, and Julia Messina, MD, MHS, assistant professor, Infectious Diseases.

Since its establishment in 2011, the academy continues to provide individual faculty development needs, supplement on-going mentorship, and develop faculty in multiple career tracks.

Members of the academy join one of four branches. Each branch is facilitated by a branch chair and several other senior faculty coaches with a strong mentoring and career development track record. 

Congratulations to new FDA members listed by branch below. 

Basic/Translational Science Research Branch

  • Brian Andonian, Rheumatology and Immunology
  • Xiaohan Lu, Nephrology

Clinical/Health Services Research Branch

  • Eziafa Oduah, Medical Oncology
  • Hannah McManus, Medical Oncology
  • Jashalynn German, Endocrinology, Metabolism, and Nutrition
  • Jie Wang, Hematologic Malignancies and Cellular Therapy
  • Laura Alder, Medical Oncology
  • Molly Hillenbrand, Infectious Diseases
  • Senthil Selvaraj, Cardiology
  • Sofia Zavala Monzon, Infectious Diseases 

Education/Scholars Branch

  • Talisha Ramchal, Gastroenterology

Clinician-Teacher Branch

  • Collin Burks, Geriatrics
  • Kennedy Wolfe, General Internal Medicine
  • Taylor Broome, General Internal Medicine