Natalie  Wong
House Staff

Start Year: 2021

Where is your hometown?

Richmond, Virginia

Where did you attend:

College/University: The College of William and Mary

Medical School: Weill Cornell Medical College

Residency: University of Pennsylvania

List your Medical and Non-Medical Honors and Awards:

  • 2019 - Outstanding Poster Presenter, ACG Annual Scientific Meeting
  • 2018 - Henry Adelman Memorial Award for Excellence in Geriatric Medicine
  • 2017 - Alpha Omega Alpha, Member
  • 2017 - Weill Cornell Medicine Health Equity Fund Grant
  • 2015 - Medical Student Summer Research Training in Aging Scholarship, American Federation of Aging Research and the National Institute on Aging
  • 2013 - Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society, Member
  • 2012 - Goldwater Scholarship

Tell us briefly about your background before embarking on your medical training:

I grew up in the suburbs of Richmond, VA, close to my large extended family. I majored in Chemistry, and I loved using my undergrad years to also explore the liberal and fine arts.

Please outline your career plans in gastroenterology (If you know it at this point in your training):

My interest in hepatology hooked me on GI, and I’m excited to explore areas that I didn’t get to see much in residency.

What were you looking for in a fellowship program?

I was looking for a program that valued mentorship and a supportive culture. I knew that I wanted strong exposure to hepatology and the ability to train in a variety of practice settings.

What advice might you offer residents looking at fellowship programs?

Be confident in your own priorities and dreams! Seek out people and programs who are enthusiastic and able to support those.

From your experience in fellowship, what have you learned about training at Duke?

The first few transition weeks have been immensely fun, challenging, and exciting. There are so many layers of support. Every GI team I’ve gotten to work with is really committed to delivering great patient care, learning a lot, and looking out for each other.

How is your life in the Triangle area outside of work?

I have loved exploring the Triangle via thrift shopping, farmer’s market browsing, and visiting friends. I am looking forward to joining Urban Sketching meet-ups, finding cool estate sales, and taking pottery classes in the coming months!

What is your favorite restaurant in Durham?

I had a truly transcendental moment eating a fresh chocolate-frosted yeast donut at Monuts.

Aside from travel, reading, and cooking…list a hobby or interest outside of work?

I love to make art, mainly drawing and painting with watercolors. I have been experimenting with printmaking and am motivated to join a Durham pottery studio so I can get back into ceramics.

House Staff