Samantha  Curtis
Senior Assistant Resident, Med-Peds
Medical Instructor in the Department of Pediatrics

Start Year: 2020


Charlotte, NC

Where did you attend college/university?
UNC Chapel Hill

Where did you attend medical school?
Brody School of Medicine - East Carolina University

What are your career goals?
I am undecided, which is why Med-Peds is a great choice for me! I hope to be at a teaching hospital with some time dedicated to community service and outreach. I ultimately would love to move abroad for a bit of time after residency and work in an underdeveloped area.

Reflections on the Duke Program

What were you looking for in a residency program?
I was looking for a family feel, where residents got along with each other and enjoyed seeing each other out of the hospital. Academically, I wanted to find a program with strong pediatric and medicine programs with endless fellowships and opportunities to explore all areas of medicine.

What are the strengths of the Duke Program?
Duke is a BIG FAMILY, which I believe is its biggest strength. When you are spending more time at the hospital than at home, having a family-feel is important. It is a program where you feel supported, challenged, and encouraged to pursue all different avenues in medicine. It has great global health opportunities during the last year of residency, by being connected to different hospital systems around the world. Duke's program helps support your goals no matter where they take you. Additionally, they have endless faculty and staff that are trained in a variety of fields for mentorship and advice. 

What are your observations about the relationships between faculty and house staff?
The relationships are genuine. Faculty truly cares about the wellbeing of house staff. They want to make sure you are supported and heard.

Tell us about your co-residents. What has helped you connect, support each other, and form friendships?
I cannot imagine a better group of people to be surrounded by. I am part of Med-Peds so there are only 6 of us. We have taken the time to talk on a daily basis and try to get together at least once a month. We also have large chat groups in medicine, pediatrics and med-peds, where we are able to talk and update each other.

About Duke University and Durham

What has surprised you most about Duke?
I was surprised at how friendly everyone is and how everyone's goals align. It is truly about the care and wellbeing of every patient. Everyone is one big team!

What is the best thing about living in Durham and the Triangle?
My husband and I both went to UNC (Go Heels!), so it is great to be back in the area. We live in an area where we can walk everywhere and run through beautiful areas in Durham.

How does the Triangle appeal to people of diverse backgrounds?
There is a huge variety of activities, concerts, food, literally anything you need in the Triangle. There is hiking trails at Eno river, a huge variety of concerts (after COVID), and a food scene that is incredible. Whatever you need is in the area!

Where did you choose to live and why?
We wanted to live in an area that was close to the hospital and a place where we could walk to the grocery store, shops and restaurants. I run a lot, so I wanted to live in a place that had access to safe neighborhoods and areas to run in and around. We also have a dog, so I wanted to have places to walk her. My husband works in Raleigh (although now more at home), and we live in an area that is 30 minutes away from there and really close to getting on interstates and expressways.

What advice would you give to someone looking to move to Durham?
Reach out to people in the area (and to current residents) and come visit the area and see if it feels right. After being in the area for 4 years for college, coming back was not a big transition for us. Durham offers a huge variety of places to live as well. If you are looking for a neighborhood with a family feel, or a cool downtown loft, or a chill apartment in a suburban area, Durham has all of those places. 

What are your interests outside of medicine?
I just got a Peloton so I love to cycle. I love to run, walk my dog, go on long hikes, basically any activity that involves being outside. I also love watching Netflix/Hulu at night: most recent show was the League and Cuckoo. My husband and I enjoy traveling and we will try to go to a new country every 1-2 years. I also love to bake!

Medical Instructor in the Department of Pediatrics