Shannon  Herndon
House Staff



Blowing Rock, NC

Where did you attend university/college?
Johns Hopkins University

Where did you attend medical school?
UNC School of Medicine

What are your career goals?
Currently, my top interest is Rheumatology! However, no matter what I end up doing, I would like to be a clinician educator and work in an academic institution. I love speaking Spanish and working with the local Latino community, so also hope to incorporate that work into my career.

Reflections on the Duke Program

What were you looking for in a residency program?
Good camaraderie between residents and the program leadership, as well as great opportunities for mentorship and continued education.

What are the strengths of the Duke Program?
The program leadership and amazing group of residents!!! I really loved my interview day for that reason, and now being a resident here, I can truly say that the feeling of camaraderie and support I gleaned when interviewing is even more wonderful than I had expected! It extends beyond just the program leadership to the attendings we work with on a daily basis, both in clinic and on the wards.

What are your observations about the relationships between faculty and house staff?
Everyone seems to get along very well and the faculty know so many of the residents by name, and vice really is a very special environment.

Tell us about your co-residents. What has helped you connect, support each other, and form friendships?
Despite being limited in the ways we can interact inside and outside of the hospital due to COVID, we have still managed to find ways to get to know each other and hang out in socially distant manners! of our chiefs, Matt, started a group where we can give "tacos" to each other aka give shout outs to people doing awesome work, which helps us all feel supported even though we can't be together in person!

About Duke University and Durham

What has surprised you most about Duke?
The emphasis on quality of life. Obviously, we're going to work hard during residency, but having sign out at 7AM on the general medicine service without the expectation to pre-round on parents is a huge bonus! This is just one example of the work the program has done to streamline resident workload so we can focus on patient care while in the hospital and also enjoy our free time outside of it!

What is the best thing about living in Durham and the Triangle?
The amazing collection of breweries and delicious eats. It has a small city vibe with wonderful parks and hiking nearby. Also, you can't beat having easy access to both the mountains and the ocean to take advantage of on your +2 golden weekends!

 How does the Triangle appeal to people of diverse backgrounds?
There are so many different opportunities and activities for people of all backgrounds and interests in the local Durham community and also in the broader Triangle. Having Carrboro/Chapel Hill, Durham, Raleigh, and Cary all within 30 minutes of each other gives access to a wide range of communities and life styles.

Where did you choose to live and why?
My partner (Emilio, a co-intern) and I chose to buy a home in South Durham...we really loved that location because it provides a space to come home to that feels different from the hospital community, while still only being a short 15 minute drive. We also really like that South Durham is right in the middle of Chapel Hill, Downtown Durham, and Raleigh.

What advice would you give to someone looking to move to Durham?
Do it! Durham is a great place to live. It has a fun small city vibe with cool restaurants and activities, but doesn't have the traffic of a huge city. If you are trying to decide between the different neighborhoods in Durham, I think it all depends on what you value most...ranging from a shorter commute time to having more space with a backyard to being close to the downtown restaurants and bars. I don't think you could go wrong with any of them!

What are your interests outside of medicine?
I love playing all sports (particularly tennis, basketball, and soccer) and having playtime and snuggles with our newly adopted (yes, he was a COVID pet) 8lb yorkipoo, Rafi (named for Rafa Nadal). I also enjoy spending time in nature, and frequently go to the nearby parks on my days off from work.

House Staff