Program for Women in Internal Medicine


The Program for Women in Internal Medicine at Duke, guided by principles of diversity and equity, aims to support, unite, inspire, and empower women faculty and trainees to achieve their highest potential in scholarship, leadership, and well-being, and thereby serves to strengthen the Department of Medicine as a whole. We specifically seek to nurture and improve the experience of women faculty and trainees in three core domains: (1) Networking and Wellbeing, (2) Scholarship and Leadership, and (3) Equity, Diversity, Inclusion. Specific efforts within these domains include:

Networking and Wellbeing

  • Community building
  • Expanding mentorship across divisions
  • Improving work culture, including civility, psychological safety, and wellbeing

Scholarship and Leadership

  • Connecting faculty to career development skills and resources
  • Keeping faculty up to date on promotions expectations

Equity and Diversity

  • Assessing equity of opportunity in regard to salary, promotion, leadership attainment, recognition and awards
  • Prevention and management of sexual harassment and gender discrimination at work
  • Ensuring diversity, intersectionality, anti-racism in all policies


Daniella Zipkin

Daniella Zipkin, MD
Associate Vice Chair for the DoM Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion
Chair, Program for Women in Internal Medicine

Advisory Committee

Advisory Committee volunteers meet quarterly and bring their collective experience, wisdom and feedback to all PWIM efforts.

  • Richa Agarwal (Cardiology)
  • Afreen Shariff (Endocrinology, Metabolism and Nutrition)
  • Joanne Wilson (Gastroenterology)
  • Cindy Moylan (Gastroenterology)
  • Neema Sharda (Geriatrics)
  • Mamata Yanamadala (Geriatrics)
  • Milta Little (Geriatrics)
  • Joel Boggan (General Internal Medicine)
  • Laura Caputo (General Internal Medicine)
  • Nadia Pasha (General Internal Medicine)
  • Suchita Sata (General Internal Medicine)
  • Rahima Zennadi (Hematology)
  • Thuy Le (Infectious Diseases)
  • Mary Foster (Nephrology)
  • Tian Zhang (Medical Oncology)
  • April Salama (Medical Oncology)
  • Carey Anders (Medical Oncology)
  • Sangeeta Joshi (Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Medicine)
  • Loretta Que (Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Medicine)
  • Patricia Lugar (Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Medicine)
  • Jennifer Ingram (Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Medicine)
  • Coral Giovacchini (Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Medicine)
  • Neelima Navuluri (Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Medicine)
  • Amanda Eudy (Rheumatology and Immunology)

Contact Information

Office: Duke University Hospital
Campus mail: Box 3703   
Phone: 919-681-6386