Department of Medicine Welcomes New Faculty Members

The Department of Medicine was delighted to recognize new faculty members at a Welcome Reception on October 18, 2022, at the Trent Semans Center for Health Education.  

Opening the occasion, Department of Medicine Chair, Kathleen Cooney, MD, spoke about the importance of faculty leadership, mentorship, career development, and highlighted a new Faculty Onboarding Tool to assist newcomers in acclimating to Duke. The tool provides a set of resources specific to research activities, just-in-time guidance and instructions to navigate the onboarding process, facilitating the transition as new faculty to the Department of Medicine.

DOM faculty
DOM leaders from left Cathleen Colón Emeric (Geriatrics), Andrew Alspaugh (Infectious Diseases), Julius Wilder (Gastroenterology)

Organized by Vice Chair for Academic Affairs, Andrew Alspaugh, MD, the reception gave attendees the opportunity to network with division chiefs, vice chairs and other leaders in the department. In recognizing new faculty and the vast array of experience they bring to the table, Alspaugh spoke about the commitment of the department and each division to helping faculty members pursue their clinical and academic goals.

Additional resources available to new faculty members include a New Faculty Orientation on October 25, 2022, from 2:00 – 4:30 p.m. and the Faculty Development Academy, a two-year program to support early stage faculty development needs, supplement on-going mentorship, and develop faculty in multiple career tracks. The department also offers a Career Development Seminar Series with a curriculum that includes topics in leadership skills development, negotiation, mentoring, and the finances of academic medical centers.

new faculty
DOM new faculty members from left, Robin Zachariah (Gastroenterology); Sanghee Hong, (Hematologic Malignancies & Cellular Therapy); Ceshae Harding (General Internal Medicine)

Faculty New to the Department of Medicine

October 1, 2021 through October 1, 2022

  • Steven Akman, Medical Oncology
  • Scott Alderman, Duke Human Vaccine Institute
  • Ashley Allen, General Internal Medicine
  • William Auger, Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Medicine
  • Christopher Beyrer, General Internal Medicine
  • Elizabeth Brindise, Gastroenterology
  • Charles Burns, Infectious Diseases
  • Jessica Cannavino, Endocrinology, Metabolism, and Nutrition
  • Diego Cepeda Mora, General Internal Medicine
  • Hui Chen, Medical Oncology
  • Rani Chudasama, Medical Oncology
  • Sara Coles, General Internal Medicine
  • Upadhyaya Deepa, Cardiology
  • Amreen Dinani, Gastroenterology
  • Michael Dore, General Internal Medicine
  • Ryan Duffy, General Internal Medicine
  • Sandy El Bitar, Hematology
  • Adedayo Fashoyin, General Internal Medicine
  • Natalia Ferrari, Medical Oncology
  • Sophia Francis, General Internal Medicine
  • Rebecca Frazier, Nephrology
  • Erin Gettler, Infectious Diseases
  • Jeremy Glissen Brown, Gastroenterology
  • Juneko Grilley-Olson, Medical Oncology
  • Rana Gupta, Endocrinology, Metabolism, and Nutrition
  • Ceshae Harding, General Internal Medicine
  • Nathaniel Harris, General Internal Medicine
  • Aaron Hein, General Internal Medicine
  • Madeleine Heldman, Infectious Diseases
  • Nathan Hirshman, General Internal Medicine
  • Daniel Hogan, Gastroenterology
  • Sanghee Hong, Hematologic Malignancies and Cellular Therapy
  • Alexandra Horne, General Internal Medicine
  • Anthony Horton, General Internal Medicine
  • John Ike, General Internal Medicine
  • Nicole Jawitz, Gastroenterology
  • Girish Kalra, Cardiology
  • Eun Joo Kang, Hematology
  • Neha Kayastha, General Internal Medicine
  • Michelle Kelsey, Cardiology
  • Archana Khandelwal, Hematology
  • AnnMarie Kieber-Emmons, Gastroenterology
  • Richard Lee, Gastroenterology   Yu-Lin Amy Lee, General Internal Medicine
  • Zak Loring, Cardiology
  • Anika Lucas, Nephrology
  • Joseph Lunyera, General Internal Medicine
  • Maria Marquine, Geriatrics
  • Cara McDermott, Geriatrics
  • Brandon Menachem, Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Medicine
  • Jyotsna Mullur, Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Medicine
  • Kathryn O'Donnell, Endocrinology, Metabolism, and Nutrition
  • Ryan Orgel, Cardiology
  • Hyungsoon Park, Medical Oncology
  • Michelle Perkons, General Internal Medicine
  • Derek Pinkerton, General Internal Medicine
  • Shweta Punj, Nephrology
  • Talisha Ramchal, Gastroenterology
  • Vinaya Rao, Nephrology
  • Joel Rivera Concepcion, Medical Oncology
  • Robert Rolfe Jr., Infectious Diseases
  • Steven Russo, Gastroenterology
  • Margaret Sahu, General Internal Medicine
  • Spoorthi Sankineni, General Internal Medicine
  • Ilan Schwartz, Infectious Diseases
  • Senthil Selvaraj, Cardiology
  • Dhvani Shah, Gastroenterology
  • Sujatha Soma, General Internal Medicine
  • Lonnie Sullivan II, General Internal Medicine
  • Sarah Summerville, General Internal Medicine
  • Sandip Swain, Gastroenterology
  • Patrick Tam, Infectious Diseases
  • Silas Trumbo, General Internal Medicine
  • Bharathi Upadhya, Cardiology
  • Judith Vick, General Internal Medicine
  • Aaron Vose, Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Medicine
  • Yibin Wang, Cardiology
  • Kara Wegermann, Gastroenterology
  • Kennedy Wolfe, General Internal Medicine
  • John Woytanowski, Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Medicine
  • Robin Zachariah, Gastroenterology
  • Tingrui Zhao, General Internal Medicine