9 from Medicine honored at 2017 Spring Faculty Meeting

Nine Department of Medicine faculty were recognized with awards at the School of Medicine's annual Spring Faculty Meeting on May 8. The recipients are:

Andy Alspaugh, MD, professor of medicine (Infectious Diseases), Carlos de Castro, MD, professor of medicine (Hematologic Malignancies and Cellular Therapy), and Andrew Wang, MD, professor of medicine (Cardiology), received the Master Teacher/Clinician Award, which honors individuals with superlative accomplishment and service in the areas of clinical care and teaching. Awards are given to recognize clinical practitioners who exemplify the highest standards of clinical care, pedagogy, and professionalism or to basic scientists who achieve distinction in pedagogy and professionalism.

Ken Lyles, MD, professor of medicine (Geriatrics), received the 2017 Leonard Palumbo Jr., MD Faculty Achievement Award, established in 1999, recognizes a member of the School of Medicine faculty who displays dedication to compassionate patient care and excellence in the teaching and mentoring of young physicians. 

Thomas Gehrig, MD, assistant professor of medicine (Cardiology), received the 2017 Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award, which is designed to recognize compassion and sensitivity in the delivery of healthcare. This award is presented annually to a faculty member who demonstrates outstanding compassion in the delivery of care; respect for patients, their families, and healthcare colleagues; as well as demonstrated clinical excellence. 

Geoffrey Ginsburg, MD, PhD, professor of medicine, biomedical engineering, pathology, nursing and director of MEDx and the Duke Center for Applied Genomics and Precision Medicine, received the 2017 Translational Research Mentoring Award.

Cathleen Colon-Emeric, MD, associate professor of medicine (Geriatrics), received the 2017 Clinical Sciences Research Mentoring Award.

The Research Mentoring Awards were established in 2009 to recognize faculty members in the Schools of Medicine and Nursing with excellence in research mentoring.

Joseph Rogers, MD, interim chair and professor of medicine (Cardiology), and Diana McNeill, MD, professor of medicine (Endocrinology, Metabolism and Nutrition), received the 2017 Excellence in Professionalism Awards, which recognize the importance of promoting ethical and professional behavior within our community.  This award is presented annually to a faculty member who exemplifies professionalism and personifies Duke’s guiding principles of respect, trustworthiness, diversity, teamwork, and learning.  

Read the full list of awardees.