Cameron Wolfe and Thomas Holland honored with Duke University Presidential Award

Cameron Wolfe, MBBS, associate professor of medicine, and Thomas Holland, MD, associate professor of medicine, both in the Division of Infectious Diseases, are recipients of the Duke University Presidential Award for 2020. Dr. Wolfe and Dr. Holland, represented as "Team Holland and Wolfe with members of the Duke Division of Infectious Diseases" will join other recipients at be honored at the virtual awards ceremony hosted by President Vincent Price on April 14 at 4 p.m.

Wolfe and Holland were nominated by John Perfect, MD, Jame B. Duke Professor of Medicine and chief of the Division of Infectious Diseases, Kathleen A. Cooney, MD, MACP, chair of the Department of Medicine, and Andrew Alspaugh, MD, professor and vice chair of academic affairs in the Department of Medicine. Their nomination letters shared compelling examples of Wolfe and Holland's leadership, selflessness, and service from the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic in the Division of Infectious Diseases and with Duke Health, leading many efforts in community outreach, vaccine development, infection prevention, and clinical care.

The Duke University Presidential Awards recognize individuals and teams who best demonstrate the values that define and shape Duke as an institution.

“Their efforts are having an impact locally at Duke Health as well as globally,” wrote Dr. Cooney, the George Barth Geller Distinguished Professor of Medicine and Chair of the Department of Medicine and one of the pair’s nominators. “They represent the best of Duke Health and have worked tirelessly during the pandemic to directly address this public health crisis.”

Watch the virtual ceremony on April 14 here and read about all the recipients.