About the Division

The division of General Internal Medicine provides exceptional patient care, research, and training of clinician leaders and scholars. With more than 300 faculty members contributing to our clinical, research and education programs, we are among the largest divisions in the Duke Department of Medicine.

William Yancy, MD

Interim Chief

William Yancy, MD

January 2023 - Present


The Duke division of General Internal Medicine was founded in 1976, making it one of the earliest divisions in the country. Patrick A. McKee, MD, our first Division Chief, served nine years; during this time James Wyngaarden, MD, a future director of the National Institutes of Health, was chair of the department of medicine.

Division Chief


William Yancy, MD (interim) January 2023 - Present
L. Ebony Boulware, MD, MPH Sept. 2013 - Dec. 2022
Eugene Oddone, MD (interim) 2012-2013
Lori Bastian, MD (interim) 2007-2012
Eugene Oddone, MD 1997-2007
John Feussner, MD 1988-1996
Mark Linzer, MD 1985-1988
Patrick McKee, MD 1976-1985