Division News

D'Alessio and Palmer Awarded Distinguished Professorships

Three faculty members from the Department of Medicine have been awarded distinguished professorships, the highest honor the university can bestow upon a member of the faculty. The appointments are effective on July 1, 2022.

David D'Alessio, MD: James B. Wyngaarden Distinguished Professor of Medicine

Dr. D’Alessio is a practicing endocrinologist and chief of the Division of Endocrinology, Metabolism and Nutrition. His research group studies regulation of insulin secretion by hormonal factors and the abnormalities of islet function in Type 2 diabetes.

2022 Chair's Research Award Recipients Announced

The Department of Medicine is delighted to announce the winning Chair’s Research Awards proposals for 2022.  

“We have been very delighted with the work and outcomes of the prior recipients of this award and anticipate an equally successful and productive course for this year’s winners,” said Kathleen Cooney, MD, MCAP, chair, Department of Medicine. “Congratulations to each award recipient!”

New Funding Awards - March 2022

Sponsored Research

Gerald Bloomfield of Cardiology has received a sub-award through the Aga Khan University for a project entitled "Chronic, Non-Communicable Diseases and Disorders Across the Lifespan: Fogarty International Research Training Award (NCD-LIFESPAN)." Total funding will be $23,180.

Ann Brown Will Deliver 2022 Clipp-Speer Lecture

The Program for Women in Internal Medicine (PWIM) will host Ann Brown, MD, MHS, vice dean for faculty, for the annual Clipp-Speer Women in Medicine Visiting Professor Grand Rounds presentation on Fri., April 29 12 p.m. in The Great Hall. The event will be hybrid in-person and virtual.